Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Að lifa fallegu lífi

2 posts in this topic

Næring fyrir sálina ...

There are 6 arishadvargas, or evils that the Gita says one should avoid: kama (lust), krodha (anger), lobh (greed), moha (deep emotional attachment), mada or ahankar (arrogance) and matsarya (jealousy). These are the negative characteristics which prevent man from attaining moksha (liberation from the birth and death cycle).

The Gita states that the man should not keep his interests on the fruition of deeds but rather on the tranquility produced in the mind by pusuing the deed itself.

Mahatma Gandhi writes, "The object of the Gita appears to me to be that of showing the most excellent way to attain self-realization" and this can be achieved by selfless action, "By desireless action; by renouncing fruits of action; by dedicating all activities to God, i.e., by surrendering oneself to Him body and soul." Gandhi called Gita, The Gospel of Selfless Action.[86]

Eknath Easwaran writes that the Gita's subject is "the war within, the struggle for self-mastery that every human being must wage if he or she is to emerge from life victorious",[87] and "The language of battle is often found in the scriptures, for it conveys the strenuous, long, drawn-out campaign we must wage to free ourselves from the tyranny of the ego, the cause of all our suffering and sorrow".[88]

Tekið héðan

eða öllu heldur héðan

Arishadvargas – 6 illar breytnir In Hindu theology, Arishadvarga are the six passions of mind or desire: kama (lust), krodha (anger), lobh (greed), moha (attachment), mada or ahankar (pride) and matsarya (jealousy); the negative characteristics of which prevent man from attaining moksha or salvation. In Sikhism they are known as the Five Evils [2] as they are referred to in Sikh Scripture, Guru Granth Sahib, which does not include matsarya (jealousy). They are:

kama — lust, craze, desire

krodha — anger, hatred

lobh — greed, miserliness, narrow minded

moha — delusory emotional attachment

mada or ahankara — pride, stubborn mindedness

matsarya — envy, jealousy, show or vanity, and pride

Kama and krodha or lust and anger are responsible for all kinds of difficult experiences which we have in our lives.

With mada or ahankar, the false ego ("I-ness") up and active, all our acting in the world becomes selfish. Hence there is no other factor causing the illusory duality of differentiating between us and them and the repeated pain and delusion it entails than the psychological ego-sense. When the materially identified ego has sided with the materialistic forces of creation (Maya), it is said to have the following faults: kama, krodha, lobha, moha, mada or ahankara, and matsarya. Also called evil passions, man's Spiritual heritage constantly gets looted by these internal thieves (and their numerous variations), causing him to lose knowledge of his True Being.

If a fellow is virtually a prisoner of arishadvargas (the six internal enemies of kama, krodha, lobha, moha, mada and matsarya) then his life is totally governed by the destiny. As a person moves ahead on the path of Self-Realization, the grip of the destiny over him loosens and he gets more and more leverage to change his destiny. When a person identifies himself with the Self, then, he becomes part of the destiny power. His power of mere sankalpa is good enough to materialize and change any situation either for good or bad according to his sankalpa.

Edited by afleiða

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Að lifa fallegu lífi er mótsögn í sjálfu sér. Að lifa í afneitun er allt annað mál.

Tími trúboðs er liðinn...

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.